Thanks to the Women who have supported my journey!

With the celebration Mother’s Day in May, I want to honor my mother and the many women who have influenced who I am today. Below are the top 10 ways some very fun, quiet, educated, compassionate and opinionated women have used their powers on me! I am afraid I would leave someone out so I am not going to name names, however there are multiple names that would go with each line.

1. Thank you for no agreeing with me, not trying to convince me and accepting we have different ideas.

2. Thank you for the girl’s nights out. Whether book club, a movie or ice cream, the conversation was worthy of my time.

3.Thank you for letting me cry, get angry and then telling me to stand up and keep going.

4. Thank you for loving me when my actions weren’t lovable.

5. Thank you for believing in me when common sense seemed to have left and my dreams kicked in.

6. Thank you for supporting me when I was discouraged and celebrating with me when I found success.

7. Thank you for teaching me to cook ethnic foods.

8. Thank you for trusting me with your heartaches and keeping mine to yourself.

9. Thank you for shopping with me! The fun of finding the dear, whether new or consignment is so much fun!!!

10. Thank you for helping me with no expectation of anything in return.

For the one who deserves mentioning by name, Lora, aka mom, thank you for all of the above and more.

From a practical perspective: thank you for teaching me the skills of money management, cooking, how to runa home or large event, the importance of education and how to shop.

From a spiritual perspective: thank you for sharing your love of the scriptures and knowledge of prayer.

From a daughter’s perspective: thank you for unconditional love.

Women have the power to influence so many lives. Choose to use that power wisely! On May 8th please nominate a woman that has had a profound impact on your life. You both will be entered to win handmade soaps from Bossy Bars. The owner, Lisa Wharton, will be my guest blogger in May. To nominate a woman simply make a comment below as to why you are nominating them.

6 thoughts on “Thanks to the Women who have supported my journey!

  1. It is amazing how something so simple as saying thank you, even when you are not naming names, can be so touching! Beautiful post…
    So since two of the women I would nominate are directly involved in this giveaway, I would like to nominate Fawn Baerwaldt, my mother. I have always known my mom was fun, had a unique perspective on life, and was honest and good.. but since I have become an adult and have had children of my own, I have come to realize just how much she has put into her children. My mother was there to help us through anything and everything, but sometimes that meant she had to step back and let us take responsibility for our own actions, and learn through our own experiences. I know now that was not an easy thing to do.. she was a not a passive parent. She was quite active in helping her kids become good, well rounded people who would contribute to society. Thank you mom for all you have done.

  2. I don’t think we should ever stop thanking the people in our lives.

    The women I would like to nominate of course is my wonderful mom Diane Sleight. She works harder than anyone I know. Raised 7 kids while working full time and still hard at working even while battling a very rare illness. I look up to her for countless reasons and her growing up the way she did and how hard of a childhood she has had, she grew up to be an amazing mom and grandmother.

  3. I have been influenced by many women in my life but none more than my mother Wanda. She shows me that happiness and a positive attitude bring magic and possibility into our daily lives.

Leave a Reply

